News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/11/2020 4:26:55 PM to 4/30/2020 2:17:25 PM.

News Flash

Communications & News Releases

Posted on: March 11, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Social Work Satellite Office Coming to Granbury

Jackie Helmer, a benefits specialist with the NCT-ADRC, will be on-site at the Hood County Committee on Aging, 501 E. Moore Street, on the fourth Thursday of each month, from 11:00 a.m. until 1:00 p.m.  In addition, she will be on-site at Visiting Angels, 806 Paluxy Road, on the second Monday of each month, from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.   Appointments are recommended but not necessary.  To schedule an appointment, call 1-855-937-2372 or email

Through the NCT-ADRC, Helmer works with people who have disabilities of all ages, their family caregivers, and persons who wish to plan in advance of disability to arrange long-term services and supports such as home health, attendant services, minor home repairs, and transportation. She explains, “My goal is to find resources that allow people to remain as healthy and independent as possible. A lot of times people don’t realize that they qualify for public benefits—like Medicaid, Medicare Savings Programs, or services through the Area Agency on Aging—and I really like making those connections.”

The NCT-ADRC serves as a source of unbiased information, with funding from Texas Health and Human Services. The services are free and available by phone Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., at 1-855-937-2372.

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG)

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG’s purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint decisions.

NCTGOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered around the two urban areas of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has more than 230 member governments, including counties, cities, school districts, and special districts.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Communications & News Releases